Secondary Curriculum

At Kings’ School Al Barsha, the Secondary level of schooling takes children from age 11 to 16, and is broken into two stages:

  • Key Stage 3 (Years 7 to 9, ages 11 to 14)
  • Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11, ages 14 to 16).

Our bespoke curriculum is based on the English National Curriculum, enhanced by best practice from other sources, including IB (International Baccalaureate) and RSA (Royal Society for the Arts).

The competences from the RSA curriculum have been incorporated into our new Kings' Learners Behaviours which now operate as capacities for our young people to aspire to & achieve across all of the Kings' Schools.

Our approach involves concept-based learning, which uses a conceptual approach to a broad subject. For example, studying the Industrial Revolution might be enhanced by approaching it through the conceptual lens ‘Technology’. Adding enquiry-based learning tasks, such as ‘How does technology change people’s lives?’ to the concept stimulates children’s curiosity and inspires them to be lifelong learners.

Key Stage 3 involves a broad and balanced curriculum to provide students with the essential knowledge, understanding and skills to become highly educated global citizens. We take a cross-curricular approach to learning, promoting literacy, numeracy, technology and cultural awareness across disciplines. To prepare students for later life, personal, social, cultural, health and economic education (PSCHE) is covered on a daily basis.

Click here to view our Key Stage 3 curriculum booklet.

Key Stage 4 involves studying a number of compulsory and optional subjects in greater depth, leading to GCSE qualifications at the end of Year 11.

The compulsory subjects for GCSE are:

  • English Language and Literature
  • Maths
  • Science.

The optional subjects for GCSE are one from each of four pathways:

  • languages (Arabic, French, Spanish)
  • humanities and sciences (Computing, History, Geography, Triple Science)
  • creative/aesthetic subjects (Art, Drama, Design Technology, PE)
  • free choice from all of the optional subjects.

In addition, there are some compulsory non-examined subjects:

  • PE
  • Islamic Education (for Muslims)
  • Independent Study.

Students can sit up to 10 GCSEs. It is also possible to gain qualifications that form the English Baccalaureate (EBacc), a performance measure recognising students with a C or Level 5 grade or higher across several core academic subjects. The subjects have been identified by Russell Group universities in the UK as the preferred subjects for entry to degree courses:

  • English
  • Maths
  • History or Geography
  • Sciences
  • Languages
  • Computer Science.

Click here to view our Key Stage 4 curriculum booklet.

Key Stage 5 covers Sixth Form education from Year 12 upwards.

Learn more about our Sixth Form programme here.